Brown unveils new interim Eskom board | Fin24
In partnership with
  • Debt Rating

    Ratings agencies adopt 'wait-and-see' approach, as SA teeters on junk knife-edge

  • Budget Blowback

    Can Cyril Ramaphosa take the heat when the toyi-toyi starts? asks Ferial Haffajee.

  • Fin24’s newsletter

    Sign up to receive Fin24's top news in your inbox every morning.


Brown unveils new interim Eskom board

Jun 23 2017 12:10
Yolandi Groenewald and Matthew le Cordeur

Johannesburg – Public Enterprises Minister Lynne Brown has unveiled an interim Eskom board, which has the uphill challenge of steering the state-owned power utility out of its quagmire of controversies.

LIVE UPDATES: Brown and Eskom address the media

She has appointed four new interim members to the board to bring it to nine. There should be 15 members, Brown told media on Friday. They are interim board members until she takes it to Cabinet, she said, following the Eskom annual general meeting.

The new members are Pulane Molokwane, Simphiwe Dingaan, Banothile Makhubela and Sathiaseelan Gounden.

"These members, together with the two executives directors, the group chief executive officer and group chief financial officer, will constitute an interim board until their names – and others to further strengthen the Board – are taken to Cabinet for approval in the next cycle," Brown said.

"I believe the interim arrangements represent a new dawn at Eskom, which recorded positive results according to its financial results presented to the AGM today. The company is in a better financial position than it was a year and two years ago. Eskom will announce their Integrated Financial Statements on 5 July 2017.

"I have asked Eskom’s new leadership to roll up its collective sleeves and immediately address three areas of primary importance: The management of contracts, conflicts of interest, and the quality of coal supplied to Eskom."

Brown has been hinting at an overhaul of the Eskom board since Brian Molefe’s controversial R30m early pension pay-out and brief return as chief executive.

Brown said she told the board at the AGM "that it may be in Eskom’s interest to rotate the Board, but this would have to be balanced against continuity".

Board member Zethembe Khoza was last week made interim chairperson after Ben Ngubane resigned, citing personal reasons.

Khoza was reappointed to the board, as was Pat Naidoo and Giovanni Leonardi.

Joining the board is Eskom veteran Johnny Dladla, who was appointed acting group chief executive on Thursday. Eskom CFO Anoj Singh is the other board member.

Brown has ordered the board to finalise the appointment of a permanent chief executive, EWN reported.

READ: Brown looks set to free Eskom from state capture

What the new leadership faces:

SUBSCRIBE FOR FREE UPDATE: Get Fin24's top morning business news and opinions in your inbox

Read Fin24's top stories trending on Twitter:

eskom  |  lynne brown  |  board


Company Snapshot

Money Clinic

Money Clinic
Do you have a question about your finances? We'll get an expert opinion.
Click here...

Voting Booth

Do you think government can solve the Eskom crisis?

Previous results · Suggest a vote