Top businesswomen honoured

2013-08-23 17:15
Post a comment 0
 Dr Thandi Ndlovu (Supplied) ~ Supplied
Johannesburg - Cristina Texeira, chief financial officer of Group Five, is the winner of the corporate category of the 34th annual Businesswoman of the Year awards presented by the Businesswomen's Association of South Africa (BWASA).

The entrepreneurial category winner is Dr Thandi Ndlovu, executive chairperson of the Motheo Construction Group.

This year was the 34th consecutive year that top businesswomen achievers have been honoured by the BWASA.

The winners were announced on Thursday at a gala dinner held at Vodaworld in Midrand.

In the corporate category Texeira edged out fellow finalist Ntombizine Madyibi, chief operating officer of the East London Development Zone, while in the entrepreneurial category Ndlovu eclipsed Elma von Plaster, owner of BP Stikland, and Shauneen Procter, partner at Brand Wizard.

The only female financial director of a listed South African construction company and Group Five’s youngest ever board member, Texeira married with a young family, also chairs Group Five’s Basadi Programme which develops and supports women in the construction sector. 

A medical doctor by training, Ndlovu started Motheo Construction in 1996 and has guided it to become a significant player in the market having overseen the supply of 30 000 serviced housing sites and more than 60 000 affordable housing units worth in excess of R1.2bn over the past few years.

A founder member of South African Women in Construction, she is a non-executive director of Truworths and is also a founder member of South African Women in Dialogue. Ndlovu is married and has five sons and a daughter.

Commenting on this year awards, Liepollo Lebohang Pheko, president of BWASA said it was fantastic to have such high calibre winners of both categories, indicating how critical women are in the economy and throughout different sectors.

“Cristina Texeira and Thandi Ndlovu are great examples of how far women have come in business in our country and they are excellent role models for other women to follow as they forge out careers in the corporate business world or as entrepreneurs,” said Pheko.

Previous winners of the Businesswoman of the Year Awards have included well known personalities such as Maria Ramos, Pam Golding, Jane Raphaely, Marina Maponya, Gloria Serobe and Dawn Mokhobo.

Read Fin24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.