Fin24 columnists
 
  • Load Shedding Schedules

    Find information for Johannesburg, Durban, Cape Town and other cities.

  • Eskom

    Critical repairs being done during 21-day lockdown as demand plummets.

  • Mills Soko

    China's success in addressing the coronavirus crisis speaks to the importance of decisive leadership.

Loading...
Opinion

OPINION | Disasters and downgrades - SA's diary of a bad year

Mar 31 2020 20:00

Financial modelling reveals that the economy could shrink as much as 5% in real terms this year – an unprecedented figure in recent times. By comparison, the economy shrank by around 2% as a result of past crises in 1983, 1992 and 2009, says Adrian Saville.

    Opinion

    EXPLAINER | How to save data during lockdown

    Mar 31 2020 06:01

    In the recent past many South Africans have learned to better understand, monitor and control their consumption of scarce resources such as water and electricity, says Kees Snijders.

    Opinion

    Andile Khumalo: What must I do for my employees during lockdown?

    Mar 30 2020 19:15

    There is rent to think about, there are debts to think about, and then there are staff members to think about. Do I force my people on leave? Paid or unpaid? But I can’t pay. Maybe I just lay them off? Retrench or dismiss? Is that even legal? asks Andile Khumalo.

    Opinion

    Mills Soko | China's coronavirus combat shows decisive leadership important

    Mar 29 2020 12:58

    China's success in addressing the coronavirus crisis speaks to the importance of decisive leadership in dealing with a crisis, says prof. Mills Soko.

    Opinion

    Daniel Silke | A black swan and a downgrade will test SA

    Mar 29 2020 10:19

    It was perhaps naive to think that the last remaining ratings agency keeping the country within investment grade parameters would be warm and fuzzy to a country in its hour of need, says Daniel Silke.

    Opinion

    OPINION | How exemptions to the Competition Act help the fight against coronavirus

    Mar 27 2020 16:17

    Several players in the sector will not be in contravention of the Competition Act if they have to coordinate an emergency response to the imminent threat of Covid-19, says Prof. Nicola Theron.

    Opinion

    OPINION | Coronavirus is our warning: Save South Africans, not ailing SOEs

    Mar 28 2020 16:00

    Government decisions on South African Airways can be considered a leading indicator of what its response will be to the double-crisis of the Covid-19 pandemic and the national debt-trap that will define much of the expected economic contraction over the coming year, says Gabriel Crouse

    Inside Fin24.com

     
    Opinion

    Thabi Leoka | Counting the economic cost of the coronavirus

    Mar 26 2020 16:26

    Government has designed a number of interventions to cushion the blow of steps taken to curb the spread of the coronavirus pandemic. But the economic cost of doing this - while undoubtedly less than the human cost of leaving it unchecked - remains staggering, says Thabi Leoka.

    Opinion

    Solly Moeng | Coronavirus may force us to start again. Let's do better

    Mar 25 2020 21:26

    Are we going to be victims of the changes taking place right before our eyes? Will these changes render us obsolete, make us to be left behind or cast aside? asks Solly Moeng.

    Company Snapshot

    Voting Booth

    Do you support a reduction in the public sector wage bill?

    Previous results · Suggest a vote

    Loading...