Loading...
Opinion

OPINION | Welcome to the new abnormal

Apr 04 2020 07:00

Nobody was expecting a great 2020, but what we didn’t realise at the start, was that it was as good as 2020 was likely to get, says Jeremy Gardiner.

    Opinion

    OPINION | Lockdown: A reminder of the devastating realities of inequality

    Apr 02 2020 20:09

    Ours is a country of great contrasts, where grinding poverty exists side-by-side with opulence found in gated estates and posh suburbs, from Fish Hoek to Umhlanga and Dainfern, says Sibongile Khumalo.

    Opinion

    OPINION | Lockdown - a chance for business to limit the damage, not exacerbate it

    Apr 01 2020 19:20

    The way we do business has changed overnight as a result of the Covid-19 outbreak and parts of the system are breaking because of it, say Nick Rockey & Matthew le Cordeur.

    Inside Fin24.com

     
    Opinion

    OPINION | Disasters and downgrades - SA's diary of a bad year

    Mar 31 2020 20:00

    Financial modelling reveals that the economy could shrink as much as 5% in real terms this year – an unprecedented figure in recent times. By comparison, the economy shrank by around 2% as a result of past crises in 1983, 1992 and 2009, says Adrian Saville.

    Opinion

    Andile Khumalo: What must I do for my employees during lockdown?

    Mar 30 2020 19:15

    There is rent to think about, there are debts to think about, and then there are staff members to think about. Do I force my people on leave? Paid or unpaid? But I can’t pay. Maybe I just lay them off? Retrench or dismiss? Is that even legal? asks Andile Khumalo.

    Opinion

    EXPLAINER | How to save data during lockdown

    Mar 31 2020 06:01

    In the recent past many South Africans have learned to better understand, monitor and control their consumption of scarce resources such as water and electricity, says Kees Snijders.

    Opinion

    Mills Soko | China's coronavirus combat shows decisive leadership important

    Mar 29 2020 12:58

    China's success in addressing the coronavirus crisis speaks to the importance of decisive leadership in dealing with a crisis, says prof. Mills Soko.

    Analysis & Opinion

    Company Snapshot

    Voting Booth

    Do you support a reduction in the public sector wage bill?

    Previous results · Suggest a vote

    Loading...