SARB's Kganyago, mining magnate Motsepe honoured at Sunday Times awards | Fin24
  • Growing Demand

    Automaker Ford says it will be adding 1 200 new jobs and a third shift at its Pretoria assembly plant.

  • 'Deeply Upsetting'

    Dan Matjila, the former CEO of the Public Investment Corporation, has denied receiving a R5m bribe.

  • Fin24’s newsletter

    Sign up to receive Fin24's top news in your inbox every morning.


SARB's Kganyago, mining magnate Motsepe honoured at Sunday Times awards

Nov 10 2017 11:52
Allison Jeftha

Cape Town - South African Reserve Bank governor Lesetja Kganyago and mining magnate Patrice Motsepe have been honoured at the annual Sunday Times Top 100 Companies Awards.

The awards, said to be the most anticipated event of the year for South African businesses, took place in Johannesburg.

According to a statement released on Thursday, Kganyago received the Sunday Times Business Leader of the Year award, an accolade which is seen as the highest honour as CEOs of the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies of the previous year decide on who is most deserving of the award.

Kganyago joins an elite list of business leaders including Pravin Gordhan, Johann Rupert, Brian Joffe, Whitey Basson and Dr Christo Wiese, to name a few.

Lifetime achievement award

Mining magnate and well-known businessman Patrice Motsepe received the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies Lifetime Achiever Award, a decision made by two independent panellists.

Motsepe is the founder and executive chairperson of African Rainbow Minerals, non-executive chairperson of Harmony Gold, and deputy chairperson of Sanlam, according to the statement.

“It seems [as if] the name Motsepe has been in the business community for an eternity

"Looking at previous winners of this award, the panel could only come to one conclusion - that his name [Motsepe] belongs among them as one of still a few black businessmen who has managed to emerge from more than 20 years of the new South Africa," said Sunday Times Business Times editor, Ron Derby.

Previous winners of the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies Lifetime Achievement Award include Dr Johann Rupert, Dr Christo Wiese, Bobby Godsell, Brian Joffe, Nelson Mandela, Allan Gray, Koos Bekker, Raymond Ackerman and Anton Rupert.

SUBSCRIBE FOR FREE UPDATE: Get Fin24's top morning business news and opinions in your inbox.

Read Fin24's top stories trending on Twitter:



Company Snapshot

Money Clinic

Money Clinic
Do you have a question about your finances? We'll get an expert opinion.
Click here...