May leadership: 28 letters known; 48 needed for a challenge | Fin24
  • New Currency

    Facebook's Libra crypto coin: 5 things we know, and 5 we don't.

  • World Bank Loan

    Eskom in race against time to complete coal line to Majuba power station.

  • Fin24’s newsletter

    Sign up to receive Fin24's top news in your inbox every morning.


May leadership: 28 letters known; 48 needed for a challenge

Dec 12 2018 10:10
Anna Molin, Katerina Petroff and Daniel Zuidijk, Bloomberg
British Prime Minister Theresa May arrives at the

British Prime Minister Theresa May arrives at the European Council to meet with its President Donald Tusk the day before a summit of the European Council on Brexit on November 24 in Brussels. (Photo by Sean Gallup/Getty Images)

Related Articles

SA to feel the blow in 'no-deal' Brexit, economist warns

Why May's last-minute Brexit brinkmanship falls flat in Germany

May gambles running down Brexit clock will focus political minds

Brexit Bulletin: Where do we go from here?


At least two Conservative MPs have publicly said they’ve submitted letters of no confidence in UK PM Theresa May since the government pulled the vote on the Brexit deal on Monday.

That brings the tally of known letters to 28, up from 22 in November when it was last speculated that rebel Tories had reached the threshold of 48 letters that are needed to trigger a party leadership contest.

Subscribe to Fin24’s newsletter here

On Tuesday, the pound fell to its lowest since April 2017 before paring losses amid conflicting reports on whether the threshold had been breached.

Only one person knew for sure: Graham Brady, the party official who receives the letters and needs to inform the prime minister when her job is indeed on the line.

BBC and ITV report that Brady would be meeting May on Wednesday afternoon.

Here’s our list of letters:

  • Owen Paterson (December 11)
  • Crispin Blunt (December 11)
  • Andrew Lewer Jacob
  • Rees-Mogg
  • Mark Francois
  • John Whittingdale
  • Steve Baker
  • Henry Smith
  • Simon Clarke
  • Anne Marie Morris
  • Lee Rowley
  • Sheryll Murray
  • Martin Vickers
  • Adam Holloway
  • Ben Bradley
  • Maria Caulfield
  • Chris Green
  • Marcus Fysh
  • Zac Goldsmith
  • Bill Cash
  • Nadine Dorries
  • Laurence Robertson
  • Andrew Bridgen
  • Andrea Jenkyns
  • Peter Bone
  • Philip Davies
  • James Duddridge
  • Philip Hollobone

NOTE: These letters can be withdrawn once submitted.

NOTE: The 1922 Committee is formed of rank-and-file conservatives and it has the power to call a no-confidence vote on May’s leadership; it requires a threshold of 48 votes to call a contest

NOTE: Bloomberg News doesn’t have a firm count of number of letters submitted.

* Sign up to Fin24's top news in your inbox: SUBSCRIBE TO FIN24 NEWSLETTER

eu  |  theresa may  |  uk  |  brexit  |  economy


Company Snapshot

Money Clinic

Money Clinic
Do you have a question about your finances? We'll get an expert opinion.
Click here...