Fortress wins Top 100 Companies Award | Fin24
In partnership with
  • Ferial Haffajee

    Why Minister of Public Enterprises Pravin Gordhan’s patriotism call to fly SAA flopped.

  • Solly Moeng

    State capture is meant to be over, but we aren't free if its beneficiaries go unpunished.

  • South African Airways

    A business rescue practitioner has been appointed to try and save the struggling flag carrier.


Fortress wins Top 100 Companies Award

Oct 28 2015 17:35

Johannesburg - Fortress Income Fund is the Sunday Times Top Company for 2015.

The company was honoured at the annual Sunday Times Top 100 Companies Awards, which took place in Sandton on Tuesday evening.

The awards track the best-performing businesses on the JSE. It acknowledges those with the highest shareholder returns over the past five years. With an average annual compound return of 72.70%, Fortress earned the top spot in the rankings this year.

Mark Stevens, CEO of Fortress Income Fund, said the company is honoured to be recognised by its peers in receiving the award.

"It has been a true team effort and everyone at Fortress deserves our thanks for a job well done. Moving forward it’s business as usual as we strive to continue maximising value and providing our shareholders with great returns,” said Stevens.

The recipients of the individual awards are voted for by members of the business community.

Meanwhile, only five companies obtained Royal status, namely Coronation Fund Managers, EOH Holdings, Mondi, Mr Price Group and Naspers. Royal companies are those which have been placed in the top twenty positions of the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies for three consecutive years. 

Billionaire businessman Dr Christo Wiese was honoured as the Sunday Times Business Leader of the Year and also received the Sunday Times Lifetime Achievement Award this year.

The Business Leader of the Year Award is decided by CEOs of the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies from the previous year. Wiese joins the ranks of previous winners Johan van Zyl, Michael Jordaan, Phuthuma Nhleko, Johann Rupert, Brian Joffe, Graham Mackay, Maria Ramos, Adrian Gore and Whitey Basson.

Previous Sunday Times Lifetime Achievers include Laurie Dippenaar, Bobby Godsell, Nelson Mandela, Allan Gray, Stephen Koseff, Richard Maponya, Bill Venter, Nthato Motlana, Donald Gordon, Sam Motsuenyane, Koos Bekker, Raymond Ackerman, Anton Rupert and Brian Joffe.

business  |  sa economy


Company Snapshot

Voting Booth

What do you think about private healthcare in SA?

Previous results · Suggest a vote