DA pushing for e-tolls review in parley
Fin24

DA pushing for e-tolls review in parley

2014-07-07 13:09

Johannesburg - E-tolling and its effects since implementation should be reviewed in Parliament, Democratic Alliance parliamentary leader Mmusi Maimane said on Monday.

The DA would ask the transport portfolio committee to do the review over the coming days, Maimane told reporters in Johannesburg.

"We contend because e-tolls were introduced by enabling legislation passed by the National Assembly, it's the responsibility of Parliament to monitor the impact of its implementation."

This included whether its stated aims and objectives were being met.

While the DA welcomed a recent announcement by Gauteng Premier David Makhura that e-tolling would be reviewed, if the African National Congress was serious about the matter, Transport Minister Dipuo Peters should welcome the review, he said.

Maimane said funding for road construction and infrastructure development should come from the fuel levy, which would negate the further need for e-tolls.

"The e-tolls system is an economic burden that is putting further pressure on the strained finances of South Africans," Maimane said.

Comments
  • Zulu Mkhise - 2014-07-07 13:20

    "The e-tolls system is an economic burden that is putting further pressure on the strained finances of South Africans," Maimane said".. yes ok, but how about this for a idea.. municipalities should take ownership in the maintenance and planning of new roads. This can act as a KPI on measuring the "success" of a municipality and if the councils are performing. Our taxes already make provision for this.

      Malebo Chadi - 2014-07-07 13:36

      That's not bad idea Mkhise. I'm sure our guys in govt gave (or would give) it some thought and weighed the pros and cons and... [looking outside window], wait a minute, is that a pig flying?!?

      Revelgen - 2014-07-07 15:54

      Something else that the poor (who do not own cars) don't realise is that e-tolling is hitting THEM hard in the pocket. There are massive e-tolls payable on delivery vehicles. One guy I know says he has to pay over R500 a day for each of his delivery trucks passing under e-toll gantries. So he is increasing his prices; he is forced to. This extra price then gets passed on to the costs of bread, mealie meal, milk etc - all zero-rated VAT items. So the poor are suffering through e-tolls and need to wake up to the real cost of this crooked R21-BILLION RAND scheme designed to fill ANC pockets.

      Zulu Makhise - 2014-07-07 18:29

      @ Made in SA.. Absolutely Sir. your average pothole remains unattended for at least 8 weeks before it is attended to, but making it part of a KPI should help. As our governing party has mentioned, non performing municipalities will be put to task.. Some confidence is put in place with the sacking of the Limpopo team(s).. BUT, it might be all short lived as everything that has been "promised" in the past. I feel it poor management to have items such as road maintenance outsourced. it is just another "leak" where funds can be mismanaged... Anyhooo, I am by no means a economist and even less of a council worker.. Just would like to see other ways to try and save the avg SA'can.

      Utopian Indigent - 2014-07-08 09:12

      Municipalities are already doing everything that is physically done for people in South Africa. It is time National government start spending money on real services instead of on themselves. National government had enough money for all of these roads with far fewer taxpayers, yet the number of national roads have not increased but they don't have money for it because of Nkandla-mentality. Putting this on municipalities who are already bankrupt is a bad idea. National government has billions to waste. Stop wasting it and look after the roads and the voters. It is that simple.

      Zulu Mkhise - 2014-07-08 11:15

      @Utopian Indigent - urm WHO funds the municipalities? Where do they get their budgets from? They are NOT spending the money wisely.. Put measurables down. If they were doing their jobs, the governing party would not have lost votes due to mismanagement and poor service delivery.

  • jwmasango - 2014-07-07 14:28

    Hayi bo Malebo,I though I also saw something flying

  • Erwin de Ruiter - 2014-07-07 14:31

    14 years in the making, 4-5 years of advertising, 8 months in operation, less than 30-40% market penetration... not much to brag about there? I guess sanrals PR department should get a little shake-up... in fact, I think the whole of snaral should get a shake-up!

  • mmmmTim - 2014-07-07 15:12

    This should be opened up to include and define the ongoing funding for road infrastructure funding and cancellation of all toll road concessions.

      Zulu Mkhise - 2014-07-07 15:48

      That's exactly my point. There enough taxes to resolve this. Municipal tax, Income tax, Fuel tax..

  • Simon Ramapuputla - 2014-07-07 15:57

    Maimane we wont listen to you, did you forget, Etolls, brought to you by ANC. so why should we listen?

  • sxp - 2014-07-07 17:44

    We do not want a review, we want it removed.

      Zulu Mkhise - 2014-07-07 21:44

      Step right up! and come enjoy a Bells.

  • Utopian Indigent - 2014-07-08 09:13

    Municipalities are already doing everything that is physically done for people in South Africa. It is time National government start spending money on real services instead of on themselves. National government had enough money for all of these roads with far fewer taxpayers, yet the number of national roads have not increased but they don't have money for it because of Nkandla-mentality. Putting this on municipalities who are already bankrupt is a bad idea. National government has billions to waste. Stop wasting it and look after the roads and the voters. It is that simple.

  • Utopian Indigent - 2014-07-08 09:15

    DA is wrong in the sense that the damage is done, review makes no sense. Billions have been wasted on the etolls system and on paying a myriad of unnecessary etolls office workers for doing nothing for 12 months before sales even started. The money is GONE. Time to review whose head must roll and how the waste can (1) be stopped and (2) be recovered.

  • pages:
  • 1