Blitz inspection on domestic wages

2011-01-12 13:23

Johannesburg - The labour department will visit homes across the country this month to make sure domestic workers are getting their wage increases.

"These blitz inspections come just after the annual (wage) increases implemented in December, and these visits serve as a follow-up to check as to whether employers are adhering to the determination," labour's chief director in the Western Cape, Teboho Thejane, said on Wednesday.

The minimum wage per hour is R9.12 for a person working 27 hours a week or less, and for more than 27 hours, the wage is R7.72 per hour.

The monthly minimum wage for a person working more than 27 hours a week is R1 506.35 and for less than 27 hours it is R1 067.15 per month.

The inspections would focus on compliance with legislation governing the sector, such as the Labour Relations Act and the Basic Conditions of Employment Act.

In the Western Cape inspectors would visit homes in Constantia, Bishops Court, Pinelands, Vredenburg and Somerset West.

The visits will take place from January 17 to January 21.

"Employers found in contravention of the labour laws will be issued with relevant notices to rectify the identified non-compliance issues. These are undertakings which will, if non-compliance persists beyond the prescribed time, be followed by compliance orders," Thejane said.

Follow-up inspections would take place in February.

Since the inception of the Domestic Sectoral Determination in September 2002, the department had registered about 740 000 employees.

  • cc - 2011-01-12 13:40

    is somebody going to check if I got an increase?

      vincent.s.phillips - 2011-05-15 16:55

      so you would rather the poor woman work for a pittance?

  • HAB - 2011-01-12 13:41

    Hello unempoyment !

  • unskinnybob - 2011-01-12 13:42

    My maid works one day a week and she gets R600.00 per month. Am I safe? She has a couple other jobs. If they all pay equally per day, she makes minimum wage easy. Right?

  • Kevin - 2011-01-12 13:42

    Anyone who pays their domestic worker less than around R120 a day has no conscience. I wish the middle to upper class would realise the difference that just an extra R30 per day can make. This minimum wage should be increased!

  • Judi - 2011-01-12 13:42

    Are they going to visit my office to see if I got an increase????

  • Serias - 2011-01-12 13:44

    They are more than welcome. Unfortunately cannot afford my domestic anymore due to this so when they come visit, they can help her move her stuff out of the accommodation I give her. So, another unemployed person goes on the street. And she must thank her government. Very sad, she said she will work for less, cause she needs the money, unfortunately I cannot take the chance because of possible repurcussions and inspections.

  • HAB - 2011-01-12 13:44

    Hello unemployment !

  • Denise Wilshire - 2011-01-12 13:45

    The labour department should visit employers in the townships to witness the absoloute slavery conditions of those domestics before looking at the suburbs. Generally these poor souls work for a pittance and get very little time off.

  • concerned - 2011-01-12 13:45

    uhm I have a lady that comes in on friday afternoon to do dishes and washing, she works .. probably about 3 hours per week.. should i pay her R1 067.15 per month now?!?!

  • Viv - 2011-01-12 13:45

    Okay so if the domestic's employer did not get a wage increase from their employer how are you supposed to increase the domestics wages? If I cant afford the increase shall I rather let my domestic go as I am not 'compliant'? What happens if the domestic does not deserve an increase? Just because the government got huge increases doesnt mean the rest of the working South Africans did. But then again as it seems as if the inspectors will be visiting the more affluent parts of the W.Cape so us budget living people will be ok.

  • Barry M - 2011-01-12 13:46

    There's the reason a lot of domestic workers will lose their employment!

  • bomskok - 2011-01-12 13:46

    I wonder if Soweto and other traditional black neighbourhoods will also be on the checklist...

  • jeff - 2011-01-12 13:47

    Great stuff. According to your minimum wage, I can half my domestic's current pay. Please don't stuff around in the Cape, rather try Waterkloof and where the real money is in South Africa. Assess if every ANC member of parliment is paying their domestic worker more.

  • Pleb - 2011-01-12 13:48

    And what if we are already paying these deadbeats twice what we should be paying them ?

  • Judi - 2011-01-12 13:49

    Well done! I presume they will be coming to my office to see that I too have the increase? Wonder why I dont have domestic staff any more.

  • Jim - 2011-01-12 13:49

    Just now people will stop using domestic workers, and they will then have a even bigger unenployment situation. In Europe people dont use domestic workers they do the work themselves and outsource functions.

  • Bruce - 2011-01-12 13:49

    WHAT a joke ! the same goverment that would not sort out their own labour issues and led to strikes !

  • SUSAN - 2011-01-12 13:55

    My 2 boerboels will be waiting to greet them warmly...

  • JAH - 2011-01-12 13:55

    Interesting that they have time to do blitz inspections, I have sent my application for an unemployment number for my domestic 3 - 4 times, 2 years later I have still not received acknowledgement of a number, the most inefficieint bunch I have ever encountered

  • WhatToDo - 2011-01-12 13:55

    Petrol price goes up, toll fees gets introduced, electricity and rates almost double ... Now MY employer is allowed not to give me an increase just for me to keep my job. Never mind the domestic worker increase, I can barely afford to pay her current salary and keep my house and car. I'm willing to struggle on with her current wages and she can have an income. I don't want to let her go just because I can't afford her increase forced unto me.

  • Confused - 2011-01-12 13:56

    The government wants to legislate and regulate but the employer has no (tax) incentive for assisting with their job creation goals? Absurd!!!

  • Rick - 2011-01-12 14:01

    Wouldn't let them in may house that's for sure. If my domestic speaks to them I will fire her.

  • La Volpe - 2011-01-12 14:02

    Let them come, welcome to ADT

  • Darryl - 2011-01-12 14:03

    I had to get rid of my maid due to petrol prices and food prices soaring. Suck on that goverment, they create more unemployment.

  • Brenda - 2011-01-12 14:04

    The minimum wage is ridiculous! My char is worth much more and she deserves her R160 per day (one day a week) + extras.

      George - 2011-05-24 12:21

      Oh good for you Brenda, would you like a medal?

  • vivisector - 2011-01-12 14:05

    and the government wonders why they cannot create jobs? I was a month without my worker (she works for me 15 years) and worked out programmes to clean myself. Realized that I actually just kept her for the past 5 years because I felt that she and her family will be without an income. With this, I will have to let her go and work myself. Another black household without income.. with the result of an increase in crime... Sorry.. mr. zuma, you still sit with high unemployment because you try to nail the guys who work hard for their money and provide an income to millions of black people.. you are shooting yourself in the foot through your imported Berluti shoes.. ((by the way, I did not get in increase except in my medical and insurance fees)

  • Alan - 2011-01-12 14:05

    If you can't afford to pay a mere R8 or R10 an hour, do your own work. These ladies work their butt's off (the majority) for a pittance. So you come home to your nice clean home, washed and ironed clothes, clean windows, beds made, and on and on and on. Our Domestic lives in, has her own full bathroom in the house, eats what we eat (bfast lunch and dinner), is off every weekend from 3 Fri afternoon until 6-30 Monday morning. She works 6-30am to around 4, sometimes later, sometimes earlier, runs her own schedule without interference, and does a damned fine job. ZIMBABWEAN, not South African, experience has taught me the SA ladies are way too politically inclined and downright lazy. And then our Housekeeper has her own TV (DSTV), DVD Player and Music System in her very comfortable room. All that, and we pay her R2200 per Month. I don't feel guilty enjoying my clean home, washed and ironed clothes, made beds.........

  • terry - 2011-01-12 14:05

    I bet they will target Cape Town and other DA strongholds in order to try and find people in thos areas who are not complying with their rules - in ordert to try and embarrass the DA. They will definitely not bee ('scuse the pun) be looking in Soweto!

  • JA - 2011-01-12 14:08


  • lorraine - 2011-01-12 14:09

    I agree Kevin - house work is hard work, something I don't want to do myself, so I pay someone a worthwhile wage to do same.

  • DILLIGAF - 2011-01-12 14:10

    What is the big fuss do people really pay the domestic workers that little. Minimum wage at R7.72 per hour is only R61.76 daily. Who the hell would work for that???

  • Dippy - 2011-01-12 14:11

    what about those from Lesotho who are not even registered, are they taking them back so that we hire the Zimbabweans who only ask for R800-00

  • BB - 2011-01-12 14:12

    i pay my domestic twice the minimum wage + extras - what should i comply to? minimum wage or an increase?

  • Candice - 2011-01-12 14:12

    This is a joke - My domestic worker gets R140 per day, she comes 4 x week - R560 x 4 = R2 240 per month (depending on how many weeks are in a month) she scores on a 5 week month! According to this i should only be paying her R1 506 per month - i dont think my domestic will agree to this? She gets an increase every year as well a a Christmas Bonus, gets paid for the whole of Dec and Jan (even though she doesnt work the full months)she also gets 2 meals a day! Sick leave (paid) as well as annual leave (besides Christmas) My increase or Bonus is not guaranteed every year! The labour department should worry about other things.... I am sure everyone pays their domestic workers more than they are required!

  • koos botha - 2011-01-12 14:13

    is it April 1st today???

  • Robin Hawkins - 2011-01-12 14:13

    I reckon this is also a thinly disguised manner of checking whether people are employing foreigners. Anyway, I think most people have to concede that domestic workers are seriously abused as far as wages are concerned. Let's see how many employers now promptly fire their staff. Not such a bright idea, this.

  • Juan - 2011-01-12 14:14

    So funny when the government pretends to care just before election time.

  • Allin - 2011-01-12 14:15

    Why are there now townships on the list of areas to be inspected?

  • J - 2011-01-12 14:16

    You guys are being pretty pathetic about it. This is to ensure compliance with the law and to make sure people are not being exploited. If can't afford the wage increase for your domestic, don't have one. How can you complain about paying the person who cleans up your crap slightly more every month. I suppose you all miss the old days when you could treat people like slaves...

  • Frans - 2011-01-12 14:18

    how about this; i pay mine R2,000 per month. My wife does her own washing (because she broke the last washing machine). My wife and daugthers did the ironing in dec (she demanded after 7 months in employment 3 x weeks leave to go to the transkei). she broke the iron. my wife bought a new 1 just before she went on leave. all through dec it was used by my wife and daughters. she is back 3 days - new iron broken. we cleaned the house ourselves during dec and found that the house was filthy. what she does in 8 hours, my wife does more in 2. she wont be getting an increase but a retrenchment. we simply can not "afford" her any more especially for services rendered. wewill rather do our own bloody work, like the rest of europe etc.

  • Robin Hawkins - 2011-01-12 14:18

    I can't believe some of the comments here. From serious aggression, through incomprehension, right the way to self-righteousness. @ WHAT TO DO... You harp on about the rising cost of living. Quite right. But you seem to forget that that higher COL also applies to your worker. Ag no, people.

  • Andre - 2011-01-12 14:19

    Goodness - I didn't get any bonus this year and an increase to laugh at. Where do I get the money from to pay for this "increase on demand" ......

  • James - 2011-01-12 14:19

    What a bunch of wallies this site attracts - how would you like to exist on such a pitiful wage ?? Bet you couldn't.

  • 123online123 - 2011-01-12 14:22

    Oh this is ridiculous! My domestic comes in one day a week, at her leisure, mind you, does some ironing, shifts the dust around a LITTLE if I'm lucky, helps herself LIBERALLY to toilet paper ( 3/4 roll disappears in 1 day), and I pay her R120-00 for the day. She works elsewhere 3 other days so she is earning rather well. I've also kept her on through very tough times times as I feel sorry for her supporting her aging mother... but if unreasonable demands are made? I will have no choice but to let her go...

  • Don - 2011-01-12 14:23

    How will the department get access to a complex or estate? They have no duristiction? Most wont even get into a property because domestic worker are just a fearful of crime and individuals who pose to be officals etc. Good Luck. Having said that, who pays their maid minimum wage. If so you should be assamed of yourself.

  • Jim - 2011-01-12 14:25

    Great methodology to boost Mr Zuma's unenployment statistics.

  • No more maids! - 2011-01-12 14:27

    We moved into a new house, let the maid move in to try and make her life easier so she does not need to get up at 3 in the morning every day. It also meant that she had extra money in her pocket at the end of the month as she did not have to pay for transport. She got her accomodation for free, we fitted her room out nicely with cooking facilities and all and I even gave her food some evenings. Despite all this, she leaked info from our house which led to 2 breakins in 3 months (that we only found out later). I then made her move out but she carried on working for me for another 2 months before I had enough on her to let her go. 2 weeks after her dismissal they broke in again, once again inside info. I now clean the house myself even though I am 7 months pregnant, my hyusband helps and my 3 year old girl is learning to clean up after herself. It took a while but we manage. I make use of a Laundry Lady who collects my washing that needs ironing from my house and delivers the next day! Eversince we have all learned to clean up after ourselves and not expect someone else to do it for you! Rather support people such as laundry people who are willing to work for their money than pay someone who expects to get what they 'deserve'.

  • cwp employee - 2011-01-12 14:32

    Government has a program that is to create work for the poor. This is their 500 000 work opportunities they talk about. Part of this is the Community Works Program. The rate they pay is R7.5 for a worker who does 16 hours per week. The minimum wage they suggest for a person who works less than 27 hours per week is R9.12. How is that for double standards?

  • Intelligent Investor - 2011-01-12 14:46

    The more they try and help, the more jobs they can destroy and employment goes higher. They mean well, but are actually doing more harm than good unfortunatly. But they dont know any better, they do not have the intelligence or mental capacity. Look at Lula in Brazil - he created growth and jobs, but not by these lunatic fringe policies which do more harm than good.

  • MIKE - 2011-01-12 14:52

    Since we don't have a maid anymore, I have realized how much we actually saved. Her salary was always just above the required minimum wage. She had free accomodation and was givenmonthly toiletries (Toilet paper, soap etc.) In addition we also gave her food on a weekly basis. Subsequent her leaving, I have seen a decrease in my water/elctr. bill. All of a sudden instead of having to purchase washing powder on a weekly basis, we use the same on a monthly basis. Sugar, coffee, washing powder, toilet paper, cleaning materials seem to last at least an additional 3-4 weeks longer. When you need potatoes,tomatoes etc. etc. it is never available, even though you havent used it. Conclusion, we do our own house work,( odd occasion we get a Nanny Team in, to do a general clean. Certain products get sent out for iorning. My experience: whatever you pay them in wages you can multiply by three. = SAVINGS. Have not even taken the time and cost of the telephone. I can assure you that my house is no dirtier than it was before.

  • pages:
  • 1
  • 2