• Corrupt councillors

    We need to expose defaulters and take back our municipalities now, says Mandi Smallhorne.

  • Davos 2017 fail

    The WEF has provided little in the way of responsive and responsible leadership, says Terry Bell.

  • Inside Labour

    No South African, with or without a job, should be condemned to poverty, says Patrick Craven.

All data is delayed
See More

Marikana brings victory for journalist

Jul 18 2013 13:43
Johannesburg - Jan de Lange of Sake24 was honoured as the 2012 Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year at a gala event in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

He also won the category for markets and companies.
Alec Hogg, credited for pioneering business radio in South Africa, received the award for lifetime achievement in financial journalism, while Moyagabo Maake of Business Times was named best newcomer.
The awards were launched in 1974 to recognise the role of financial journalists in modern business life and reward excellence in financial journalism. Prizes totalling over R300 000 were won.
The adjudication panel lauded De Lange’s writing on Marikana. What set him apart was the use of his knowledge and expertise as a labour and mining specialist writer, spanning more than two decades.

According to the judges he interpreted the events at Marikana and its likely impact for years to come in an exceptional way.

"He addressed the specifics from the labour reporting point of view rather than economic abstracts, while still making the relationship quite clear," according to the judges.

Sanlam Group Chief Executive, Johan van Zyl, said financial journalism continued to play the important role of informing the public.

“We know that a lot of passion and commitment goes into putting together the news and analysis and bringing it to the public," he said.

"We believe our contribution towards recognising excellence in financial journalism also serves to encourage more quality work as evident in the entries we receive every year.”
Winners in the various categories were:

  • Ann Crotty (Business Report) and Malcolm Rees (Moneyweb) for -  economy and industry (daily newspapers and online media);
  • Claire Bisseker (Financial Mail) for the categories economy and industry and infrastructure development (magazines and weekly newspapers);
  • Jeanette Clark (Moneyweb) for the categories personal finance and infrastructure development (daily newspapers and online media);
  • Francois Williams (Sake24) for green economy (daily newspapers and online media);
  • Kate Barry (Carte Blanche) for audiovisual media;
  • Rob Rose (Business Times) for markets and companies (magazines and weekly newspapers);
  • Stafford Thomas (Financial Mail) for green economy (magazines and weekly newspapers).

The winners with Johan van Zyl and Peter Vundla.

- Fin24

Follow Fin24 on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ and Pinterest.

sanlam  |  johan van zyl  |  companies  |  ict



Read Fin24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Company Snapshot

We're talking about: SMALL BUSINESS

From fossils to finance – that’s been the career trajectory of Dr Merrill van der Walt, a palaeontologist until recently. She is now a statistician with a difference.

Money Clinic

Money Clinic
Do you have a question about your finances? We'll get an expert opinion.
Click here...

Voting Booth

How did you buy your property?

Previous results · Suggest a vote